Fit Faith

Connecting physical training and proper nutrition with sprititual fitness.

Defining Moment

on March 5, 2013

Our homework assignment this week for BTWG involves reflecting on our past by breaking our lives into different stages by age and focusing the people in our lives at the time, experiences that defined us and choices that we made. This assignment is very timely considering one of my defining experiences occurred exactly 11 years ago today: Tuesday, March 5, 2002.

My son was just 3 ½ months old and had been diagnosed with craniosynostosis of sagittal suture (makes me sound smart, doesn’t it?). Basically, the sutures in his head that overlap when traveling through the birth canal fused together which caused him to not have a soft spot and forced his head to grow only in the forward direction instead of around. If left untreated, this would result in pressure on the brain and eventual permanent brain damage. Thankfully, his wonderful pediatrician had caught it early so he did not have any damage to his brain and the reconstruction of his forehead would be minimal.

The University Health System website describes the surgery for this condition as follows.

“The “traditional” operation is carried out by making a scalp incision from ear-to-ear, mobilizing the scalp to expose the skull, total or sub-total skull removal, which is followed by reshaping and replacement of the skull with a variety of materials.

Surgery usually takes several hours (3-7), and universally requires blood transfusions with hospitalization of three-five days. Extensive postoperative swelling is often seen and can be associated with some pain and discomfort.”

Talk about a kick to the gut for brand new, first time parents!

So, I did the one thing I knew to do. I prayed. I prayed for a miracle, that God would heal him, and he wouldn’t need surgery. But God chose not to heal him through a miracle, He was going to use the hands of surgeons.

He was also going to use this experience to teach me and change me. You see, I liked to be in control, and I also had a tendency to worry, especially about those things out of my control (like handing over my baby to a team of surgeons to perform major surgery!). I learned to trust God and have faith. He could and would take care of my son even better than I could. Even if the outcome was devastating, He would be with us every step of the way. God was in control. Not me. I learned so much from this experience about handing things over to God, not worrying and resting in His peace. As Van Walton, the author of today’s devotion for Proverbs 31 ministries wrote,

“Each time we survive a major ordeal we grow stronger, wiser, more prepared for the next challenge. We are conquerors and overcomers with God’s help. Ordeals, hardships, distresses are permitted by God for our perfection. Either He permits them or He plans them. If God has intentionally laid out a troublesome path for us, He has a purpose.”
surgery1

surgery2
I am blessed to share that my son is a happy, healthy, active 11 year old with no further health issues, and his mom is trying to pass on this lesson of faith and trust to anyone who will listen.

Leave a Reply

